Home > gardening tips > What Must I Do When I Start Seeds for Garden Indoors?

What Must I Do When I Start Seeds for Garden Indoors?

Question: I have five little jiffy green houses that you can purchase in the garden center. In it I put the seeds down with the soil. How moist must I keep them to germinate? What else must I know ?

Answer: You want moist but not soggy. You water the soil well so that it is nice and damp but not so wet that you could squeeze water out. Then you plant the seeds and put on the lid. Keep the greenhouse in a warm place. Some seeds, like tomatoes, like to have very warm soil to sprout. They don’t have to be in direct sunlight at this point. You may not have to add any more water as the lid keeps everything moist. When the seeds sprout, or most of them, you can remove the lid. After they sprout they will need more light and moisture and good air circulation to keep them strong and prevent damping off. A grow light or old fashioned fluorescent light kept close to the plants will promote leafy growth and will prevent them from getting ‘leggy’.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment